Dubuque One Acts

Dubuque Fine Arts PlayersDBQ one acts logo
Produces Premieres of Winning One-Act Plays –
From Its 38th Annual National Contest
August 20, 21 and 22, 2015 – 7:30pm

Nation’s oldest one-act play writing contest premieres three prize-winning dramas on Mindframe’s stage.

World premiere live performances of three outstanding new theater works will be presented by Dubuque Fine Arts Players in its 38th Annual National One-Act Play Festival on August 20-22.

The performances are winners in Dubuque’s contest, the longest established one-act playwriting contests in the nation. Since 1977, the Dubuque Fine Arts Players (a theater wing of the Dubuque County Fine Arts Society) have sponsored a national one-act playwriting contest and have offered productions of the winning scripts.

The contest is a unique theater tradition. Every year playwrights from around the US and several foreign countries submit unproduced original one-act plays to the contest. Each script goes through a rigorous screening process in which scripts are read by a panel of volunteer script readers. What makes the contest unique is that the readers represent people from all walks of life in the community. After multiple readings, the top ten scripts from this process are then evaluated by a panel of directors and final judges who select the three prize winners and determine which plays will be produced and staged by local volunteer actors, directors, and technicians.

For a third year, the productions will be at Mindframe Theaters in Dubuque, through a partnership with Mindframe.  Special lighting and stage embellishments and the availability of refreshments have made this a popular and memorable evening of live theatre for Festival patrons.  This year’s plays are provocative, humorous and thoughtful:

  • First Prize: The Other Half by Garry Michael Kluger (LaCrescenta, CA), directed by Lynda Mackie and featuring Lisa Anderson, Stephanie Bussan, Melissa McGuire, and Pearl Olson. A drama with some wonderful comedic moments, in which three women come to grips with a woman they thought they knew.
  • Second Prize: No Koch, Pepski by Ed Gross (Westwood, NJ), directed by Carrie Pozdol, with performances by James Brown, Aaron Pozdol, and Art Roche. A clever satirical commentary on the current state of political campaign finance.
  • Third Prize: Love in a Minor Key by David Finney (Chicago, IL), directed by Dan Fairchild. Actors include Robert Armstrong, Ryan Michael Decker, Jan Haverland,  Lynsay Haverland, and Lisa Pence.  A comedy about a widower trying to move on emotionally and physically.

Performances of this year’s one act plays will be August 20, 21 and 22 (Thursday, Friday, and Saturday) at 7:30 pm at Mindframe Theaters, behind Kennedy Mall in Dubuque. All three plays are shown each evening.  An opportunity to meet the directors, actors and possibly some playwrights for discussion will follow the performances each night. Tickets are $15.00 at the door, $10 for college students with ID and younger.   More at www.dbqoneacts.org.

Contact information for the winning playwrights and the three directors is available on request.  One Act Festival Doug Art

Mississippi River Art Workshops

Welcome to Mississippi River Arts Workshops.  Our initiative was organized in late 2014 by a group of Dubuque area artists and arts supporters who recognize the unique beauty of the community and surroundings.  Our goal is to create art experiences for artists which explore and capitalize on this natural and man-created beauty.  We will focus initially on painting, but will broaden our focus as we move forward.  More Information click here.

Nash Gallery Current Exhibit

matt mikuliceOne of contemporary art’s most exciting draughtsman. Matthew Mikulice was born in 1984. He attended Clarke University in Dubuque, Iowa where he graduated in 2006 with a Bachelor’s of Art degree in studio art, emphasis in drawing. He has shown all over the tri-state area. He currently lives and works in Dubuque, Iowa.

Exhibition runs until April 6. Gallery hours are Saturdays and Sundays 12-4 p.m.

Call for Submissions

Dawg Call 8.5x11Dubuque Area Writers Guild
2014 Gallery

In keeping with longstanding Dubuque tradition, the Dubuque Area Writers Guild will be publishing its annual anthology this May in conjunction with DubuqueFest!

The Dubuque Area Writers Guild is currently seeking submissions for the 36th edition of its annual Gallery book project. This yearʼs publication will be an open genre anthology showcasing art and writing of Dubuquers and those with ties to the Dubuque area, and will be open to works of any theme or subject.

Writers of all ages may submit fiction, non- fiction, poetry and memoir pieces. Prose entries should not exceed 1200 words. Poems should not exceed 30 lines. The journal also invites submissions of black and white artwork (drawings, photography, digital art, etc.). Manuscripts should be double-spaced, with name, address, e-mail and telephone number appearing on each submitted page. Writers should also include a short biography along with their submission (50 words max). Electronic submissions should be sent to dubuqueareawritersguild@gmail.com as attached .jpg or word files. Materials may also be mailed to Dubuque Area Writers Guild, c/o Heidi Zull, 1631 Main St. Apt. 1, Dubuque, IA 52001. Writers selected for publication may be invited to read at the launch reception held during DubuqueFest May 16th, 2014 and the public is invited to attend.

The deadline for submissions is March 31st, 2014.

Writers selected for publication may be invited to read at a reception to celebrate the launch of the anthology, which will be held during DubuqueFest. The public is invited to attend the reception/reading and encouraged to purchase copies of The Gallery.

Find us on Facebook


2014 Elisha Darlin Art Award Winner Greg Orwoll

ED 2014Award Celebration
Friday Mach 28, 2014
Five Flags Theater

Dubuque County Fine Arts Society is proud to announce that they will present Greg Orwoll with the 34th annual Elisha Darlin Art Award at a reception on Friday, March 28 at the Five Flags Theater.

Five Flags Arena doors on Main St. will open for reception at 6PM where appetizers will be served with cash bar.  Award ceremony will begin in Five Flags Theater at 7PM.

Tickets on sale Friday March 7, 2014 at 10AM
General admission $25, Group of ten or more receive $3 discount
Tickets available at Five Flags Box Office and Ticketmaster.com, or email EDAward@DCFAS.org to reserve you tickets.

This year, Fine Arts Society presents the award to Greg Orwoll.  Greg’s 31 years with Dubuque Colts Drum and Bugle Corps created a rich and encouraging environment for the members.  The Colts have an international reach to bring students to Dubuque to learn, compete, and experience the joy of expression through music and motion.  Award ceremony will include performance by Dubuque Senior High band ensemble and some other fun surprises.

More information available here.